Auckland Banner

25th Anniversary of U3A

in New Zealand

was held on Friday 29th August 2014

St Chad's Community Hall, Meadowbank Auckland


1989 - 2014

Silver Jubilee

one day event held on 29th August 2014 at

St Chad’s Meadowbank


10.00 am        Welcome

10.10 am        Main Speaker - Prof. Byblow

10.50 am        Questions

11.00 am        Morning Tea

11.30 am        Presentations

12.15 pm        Lunch

1.00 pm          Presentations

2.30pm           Finish

Guest Speaker

Professor Winston Byblow

is Director of the Movement Neuroscience Laboratory. His research team examines the neural control of movement in health and disease, including ways to enhance motor recovery after stroke, and improve movement abilities of people with movement disorders.


U3A’s point of difference from other organisations for Seniors is our Study Group [Special Interest Group] structure.  This enables us to carry out our stated aim:

Those who teach will also learn
Prof.Winston Byblow

We proudly presented  this section of our celebrations – mostly a series of “minitalks” which have been delivered to a Study Group at the “home” U3A.

We note that the people delivering these little talks are not necessarily experts in the field concerned but have done the research so the talk is a success.

Ken Bray


U3A in Auckland

Garry Clark

Browns Bay

Cambridge U3A UK Charles Bonney - Video

Patricia Smith

Browns Bay

“The Ambassadors”

Colin Nicholson


First Day Disasters

Romantic Age Group


Poetry from the Romantic Age

Pro-Show presentation

Browns Bay

Misc Topics

Anne Haycock

Browns Bay

The Plague

Fay Weatherly

Browns Bay

Double Entry Bookkeeping

Alison Wesley

Hibiscus Coast

Cystic Fibrosis

Gay Williams


Wine trail -in Alsace

Chris Hawley


NZ in Asia Pacific

John CB White


The Queen’s Rememberencer

Dawn Hutson


Vexillophilia (Flags)

Roy Boston

Browns Bay

Pro  Show Video


Foundation Members

The group of people listed below started the first U3A in Auckland and in New Zealand] in 1989 in Remuera

Bryan Bartley

Elaine Bartley

Marjory Bond

* Ken Bray

Margaret Cole

Tony Laity

Mary Mark-Brown

Ian McCarrison

Billie McKane

Kingsley McKane

Margaret Nash

Alison North

Hilary Reid

Janet Smale

John Stewart

Alistair Whitehall

 * Presentation at the 25th U3A NZ Jubilee


Note: the list above may not be accurate. Please update us if you have information on the foundation members please.

Contact  U3A by email